Contact Us

Gregory Roberts
Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students

Diedre DeBose
Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Hilbert College

Students in front of Fran Hall

Diversity at Hilbert

Hilbert College’s Catholic Franciscan values call us to create a diverse community that is inclusive, responsive, and supportive of all students, staff, and faculty. Consistent with our mission, the Hilbert community seeks to move beyond tolerance of each other to genuine acceptance and celebration of the unique gifts each person brings. We will intentionally integrate the rich diversity of our campus community into our educational processes by developing a living and learning environment that allows us to expand our knowledge and practice our values as part of a diverse and inclusive society. We will achieve these aspirations through ongoing efforts to extend our understanding, disciplined review of our achievements, and regular evaluation of our processes and outcomes.

We Acknowledge

  • That all Hilbert College community members have intrinsic worth
  • That the Hilbert College community benefits from its members who bring varied backgrounds and diverse perspectives
  • That Hilbert College educational experience is enhanced by an understanding of the Franciscan values

We Aspire

  • To create a community that respects and appreciates the dignity and uniqueness of all and reflects this in our teaching-learning process and our campus climate
  • To increase diversity in all parts of the Hilbert College community through active recruitment
  • To educate and engage all members of our campus community to foster an environment of acceptance and openness

We Act

  • To ensure that the Hilbert College community intentionally engages diversity to support the social and academic growth of the students by developing a curriculum that incorporates diverse viewpoints, experiences, and social justice
  • Actively recruit and retain more faculty and staff from diverse groups
  • Actively recruit and retain a student body that represents a diverse population
  • Cultivate a community that is committed to service, respect, and compassion
Hilbert students and employees are active participants in our work toward inclusive excellence. All members of the Hilbert community are encouraged to affirm their commitment to diversity and inclusion by acknowledging Hilbert's Diversity Pledge.

The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion is dedicated to aiding in the creation and maintenance of a welcoming, diverse, inclusive, and engaging campus experience for all campus community members.

Committee Members:

Habib Bakht, Chair, Natural Sciences and Math 
Dierdre DeBose, Chair; Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Jessica Hoffman, Co-Chair; Assistant Professor of Sociology

Lee Coletti, International Student Coordinator
Brandon Kottowitz, Student Representative

Colleen Kusmierz, Associate Professor of Human Services
Julie Kusmirez, Associate Professor of Human Services 

David Reis, Director, First-Year Experience Program
Gregory Roberts, Vice President and Dean of Students
Sharon Sisti, Associate Professor of Human Services
Gordon Snow, Professor of Philosophy
Erin Warford, Assistant Professor of History 
Rachel Wozniak, Director of Service Learning & Community Engagement